Back your Favourite Young Farmer

Back your Favourite Young Farmer

3 June 2019

EMBARGO: 3rd June 2019

Back your Favourite Young Farmer

Voting is officially open for the 2019 FMG Young Farmer of the Year – People’s Choice Award.

Once again, Kiwis will have the chance to back their favourite Young Farmer, thanks to the People’s Choice element, introduced by NZ’s leading rural insurer, FMG back in 2016.

“Since coming on board as the principal sponsor, FMG has looked at ways to build on the competitions popularity.  The People’s Choice helps the regional finalists showcase themselves as ambassadors; encouraging more young people into the industry” says FMG's Chief Client Officer Andrea Brunner.

“For us, the FMG Young Farmer of the Year finalists’ represent some of the best young talent we have in the industry, and we wanted to help build up their professional profile and seek opportunities to become leaders and positive influencers in the rural sector.

This award also gives people a chance to get more involved with the competition. Rural and provincial communities are fiercely loyal, and this award gives people a chance to show that loyalty by backing their favourite competitor”.

Each of the seven finalists has established their own Facebook page, have their face and name plastered on a billboard within their region and have received a ‘101’ on how to market themselves and seek opportunities to raise their professional profile.

The finalists have the support of FMG, New Zealand Young Farmers and their local clubs, and are only limited by their imagination so long as they positively promote the rural sector and showcase themselves as young leaders in the industry.

Everyone who votes goes into the draw to win a Fitbit Surge™ and the winning finalist will also pick up $1,000 for their Young Farmers Club. 

Voting can be done by visiting

While there, you can also view their video profiles and click through to their Facebook page.  Voting will be open right up until the winner is announced at the 51st FMG Young Farmer of the Year Grand Final in Hawke’s Bay, 4-6 July.

Keep an eye out in your region for your finalist – they may pop up in the paper, on advertising billboards, at events, on social media, on radio – and show them your support.


The seven finalists are:

Alan Harvey – Aorangi

Joseph Watts – East Coast

James Robertson  – Northland

Matt McRae – Otago/Southland

Alex Field – Taranaki/Manawatu

Georgie Lindsay – Tasman

Emma Dangen – Waikato/Bay of Plenty




For more information, photos and to request an interview with a finalist from your region contact:

Emma Rowe

Communications FMG